Clinician or researcher
Studies, guidelines and drugs in tables. Every row links to a page where each claim keeps its population, follow-up and sources.
Studies 2
| Study | Design | Phase | Completion | Findings | Sources cited |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| China Salt Substitute and Stroke Study (SSaSS) | Cluster-randomized, parallel-group trial of 600 villages assigned 1:1. The abstract calls it open-label. The registry records allocation as randomized and masking as DOUBLE (investigator and outcomes assessor). The two descriptions are not reconciled. Prevention trial; no drug phase. | Not applicable | 2020-09-04 (actual) | 6 | 2 |
| Systolic Blood Pressure Intervention Trial (SPRINT) | Randomized, parallel-group, open-label trial with blinded outcome adjudication at 102 clinical sites in 5 clinical-center networks in the United States including Puerto Rico. The registry records allocation as randomized and masking as single (outcomes assessor). | Not applicable | 2016-07 (actual) | 6 | 3 |
Guidelines 5
| Guideline | Issued by | Edition | Published | Status | Recommendations | Sources cited |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 ESC guidelines on elevated blood pressure and hypertension | European Society of Cardiology | Not reported | Not reported | not checked | 0 | 1 |
| 2025 AHA/ACC high blood pressure guideline | American Heart Association, American College of Cardiology, American Association of Nurse Practitioners, American Academy of Physician Associates, Association of Black Cardiologists, American College of Clinical Pharmacy, American College of Preventive Medicine, American Geriatrics Society, American Medical Association, American Society of Preventive Cardiology, National Medical Association, Preventive Cardiovascular Nurses Association, Society of General Internal Medicine | Not reported | Not reported | not checked | 0 | 1 |
| NICE guideline NG136: Hypertension in adults, diagnosis and management | National Institute for Health and Care Excellence | Not reported | Not reported | not checked | 4 | 3 |
| Use of lower-sodium salt substitutes: WHO guideline (2025) | World Health Organization | WHO guideline, 2025. The WHO page dates it 27 January 2025 and the PDF title page shows only the year. | 2025-01-27 | not checked | 1 | 1 |
| WHO guideline for the pharmacological treatment of hypertension in adults (2021) | World Health Organization | Not reported | Not reported | not checked | 9 | 1 |
Outcomes 7
What a study measures, defined.
-
A sudden heart-artery problem that did not lead to a heart attack. In SPRINT it is one of the five kinds of event that made up the primary combined outcome.
-
A sudden worsening of heart failure. In SPRINT it is one of the five kinds of event that made up the primary combined outcome.
-
Dying for any reason during a study's follow-up.
-
Death from heart or blood-vessel causes. In SPRINT it is one of the five kinds of event that made up the primary combined outcome.
-
A heart attack. In SPRINT it is one of the five kinds of event that made up the primary combined outcome.
-
A combined count of heart attacks, other sudden heart-artery problems, strokes, heart failure and deaths from heart or blood-vessel causes.
-
Having a stroke during a study's follow-up. Each study decides what counts as a stroke.