2020 ACC/AHA valvular heart disease guideline

The 2020 guideline on the management of people with heart valve disease from the American College of Cardiology and the American Heart Association. An ACC summary says it replaces the 2014 guideline and its 2017 focused update. PubMed holds no abstract for it. The advice on choosing between open surgery and a catheter valve comes from an ACC summary of Part 1 because the guideline text was not read.

  • Guideline
  • In this atlas

Overview

Technical summary

Circulation 2021;143(5):e72-e227, doi 10.1161/CIR.0000000000000923, PMID 33332150. Electronic publication 2020-12-17. Issued by the joint ACC/AHA committee on clinical practice guidelines. PubMed lists four corrections (2021-02-02, 2023-08-22, 2023-11-14 and 2024-09-17); their text was not read. Parts 2 and 3 of the ACC key perspectives were not fetched.

About this guideline

Edition
2020 guideline
Published
2020-12-17
Status
Not checked for a newer edition

Source

Document
2020 ACC/AHA Guideline for the Management of Patients With Valvular Heart Disease: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines
Publisher
Circulation
Edition note
Published in Circulation 143(5):e72-e227 (issue date 2021-02-02; electronic publication 2020-12-17). PubMed bibliographic record only: PubMed holds no abstract and lists no PMC copy. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 4 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds snapshots of two ACC pages: Part 1 of 3 of the key perspectives (dated Dec 17, 2020) and the ACC article on what changed from the 2017 update. They are ACC summaries, not the guideline text; Parts 2 and 3 were not fetched. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it.

Recommendations

Claims and evidence

Context Patients with aortic stenosis who need valve intervention and for whom a bioprosthetic valve is suitable (ACC summary of the 2020 guideline)

Recipient
Recipient not specified
Population
Patients for whom a bioprosthetic valve is suitable, which the ACC summary groups under its points on aortic stenosis. Some of its rules name symptomatic patients and a few name an age range (65 to 80 years). The summary does not state an adult-only limit.
Care setting
Not stated in the ACC summary. The decision is described as one for a team and the patient to take together.
Geography
Not stated in the ACC summary (issued by American societies; jurisdiction not verified)
Life stage
Not stated; the 65 to 80 year range applies to one rule only
Gestational age
Not reported
Postnatal age
Not reported
Follow-up
Not applicable (guideline context)
Eligibility: 2 inclusion criteria; 1 exclusion criterion
Included
  • Aortic stenosis needing valve intervention
  • A bioprosthetic valve is suitable
Excluded
  • Patients in whom a bioprosthesis is not appropriate
  • Description Guidance Certainty not assessed

    An ACC summary says the 2020 ACC/AHA valvular heart disease guideline supersedes the 2014 AHA/ACC guideline and the focused update issued in 2017.

    Source problem. A cited source is corrected. Check the sources before relying on this claim.

    Applies to Recipient not specified
    • Patients for whom a bioprosthetic valve is suitable, which the ACC summary groups under its points on aortic stenosis. Some of its rules name symptomatic patients and a few name an age range (65 to 80 years). The summary does not state an adult-only limit.
    • Not stated in the ACC summary. The decision is described as one for a team and the patient to take together.
    • Not stated in the ACC summary (issued by American societies; jurisdiction not verified)
    • Not stated; the 65 to 80 year range applies to one rule only
    • Gestational age Not reported
    • Postnatal age Not reported
    Follow-up Not applicable (guideline context)
    Certainty method
    Not assessed
    Limitations
    The source is the ACC key-perspectives summary (ACC content, hash only), not the guideline text. PubMed holds no abstract for the guideline and lists four corrections (2021-02-02, 2023-08-22, 2023-11-14 and 2024-09-17); their text was not read, so it is not known whether they change anything stated here. This claim does not link to records of the 2014 or 2017 documents.
    Last checked
    2026-10-15
    Next evidence check due
    Not scheduled
    Sources and citations (2)
    1. Supports 2020 ACC/AHA Guideline for the Management of Patients With Valvular Heart Disease: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines

      Guideline · Circulation · Edition Published in Circulation 143(5):e72-e227 (issue date 2021-02-02; electronic publication 2020-12-17). PubMed bibliographic record only: PubMed holds no abstract and lists no PMC copy. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 4 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds snapshots of two ACC pages: Part 1 of 3 of the key perspectives (dated Dec 17, 2020) and the ACC article on what changed from the 2017 update. They are ACC summaries, not the guideline text; Parts 2 and 3 were not fetched. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it. · Published 2021-02-02 · DOI: 10.1161/CIR.0000000000000923 · PMID: 33332150

      Locator
      Introduction, sentence 1
      How it applies
      The 2020 guideline replaces the 2014 guideline and the 2017 focused update.
      Retrieved
      Source effective date
      Not reported
      Source state
      Corrected
      Snapshot hash
      a22941b13dfac639c9e2466be0f0e80086c8f47a6b195e097915b63e7d1923aa
      Reuse basis
      PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
    2. Background 2020 ACC/AHA Guideline for the Management of Patients With Valvular Heart Disease: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines

      Guideline · Circulation · Edition Published in Circulation 143(5):e72-e227 (issue date 2021-02-02; electronic publication 2020-12-17). PubMed bibliographic record only: PubMed holds no abstract and lists no PMC copy. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 4 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds snapshots of two ACC pages: Part 1 of 3 of the key perspectives (dated Dec 17, 2020) and the ACC article on what changed from the 2017 update. They are ACC summaries, not the guideline text; Parts 2 and 3 were not fetched. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it. · Published 2021-02-02 · DOI: 10.1161/CIR.0000000000000923 · PMID: 33332150

      Locator
      CommentsCorrectionsList, four ErratumIn entries
      How it applies
      Shows that corrections exist. What they change is unknown.
      Retrieved
      Source effective date
      Not reported
      Source state
      Corrected
      Snapshot hash
      2ef5af022a03211aee6564fe6d8b23521016ff4b0d6d4436ae989c0963c13a08
      Reuse basis
      PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.

Record details

Record id
cardio:guideline-acc-aha-2020-valve
Content hash
b10f72d3c375ae5216454d3743751012d7bc93775e8fd4526585bedfb5a9f608