{
  "release_id": "73130c34862e2d06",
  "id": "cardio:guideline-acc-aha-2020-valve",
  "owner": "cardio",
  "kind": "guideline",
  "slug": "guideline-acc-aha-2020-valve",
  "name": "2020 ACC/AHA valvular heart disease guideline",
  "aliases": [],
  "atlases": [
    "cardio"
  ],
  "summary_plain": "The 2020 guideline on the management of people with heart valve disease from the American College of Cardiology and the American Heart Association. An ACC summary says it replaces the 2014 guideline and its 2017 focused update. PubMed holds no abstract for it. The advice on choosing between open surgery and a catheter valve comes from an ACC summary of Part 1 because the guideline text was not read.",
  "summary_technical": "Circulation 2021;143(5):e72-e227, doi 10.1161/CIR.0000000000000923, PMID 33332150. Electronic publication 2020-12-17. Issued by the joint ACC/AHA committee on clinical practice guidelines. PubMed lists four corrections (2021-02-02, 2023-08-22, 2023-11-14 and 2024-09-17); their text was not read. Parts 2 and 3 of the ACC key perspectives were not fetched.",
  "editorial_state": "draft",
  "last_substantive_edit": "2026-10-15",
  "last_evidence_check": "2026-10-15",
  "next_review_due": null,
  "identifiers": [
    {
      "scheme": "doi",
      "value": "10.1161/CIR.0000000000000923",
      "normalized_value": "10.1161/cir.0000000000000923",
      "match": "exact",
      "version": null,
      "label": null,
      "from_source": true
    },
    {
      "scheme": "pmid",
      "value": "33332150",
      "normalized_value": "33332150",
      "match": "exact",
      "version": null,
      "label": null,
      "from_source": true
    }
  ],
  "navigation": {
    "cardio": {
      "system": [
        "heart"
      ],
      "condition-area": [
        "valvular-and-congenital-disease"
      ]
    }
  },
  "payload": {
    "source": "cardio:acc-aha-2020-valve",
    "issuers": [
      "core:acc",
      "core:aha"
    ],
    "edition": "2020 guideline",
    "published": "2020-12-17",
    "planned_update": null,
    "status": "not_checked",
    "scope": null,
    "plain_interpretation": null
  },
  "content_digest": "b10f72d3c375ae5216454d3743751012d7bc93775e8fd4526585bedfb5a9f608",
  "review": {
    "content_digest": "b10f72d3c375ae5216454d3743751012d7bc93775e8fd4526585bedfb5a9f608",
    "current": [],
    "conflicting": [],
    "stale": [],
    "inactive": []
  },
  "claims": [
    {
      "release_id": "73130c34862e2d06",
      "id": "cardio:claim-acc-aha-2020-valve-replaces-2014",
      "owner": "cardio",
      "subject_entity_id": "cardio:guideline-acc-aha-2020-valve",
      "category": "descriptive",
      "statement": "An ACC summary says the 2020 ACC/AHA valvular heart disease guideline supersedes the 2014 AHA/ACC guideline and the focused update issued in 2017.",
      "context": {
        "id": "cardio:ctx-acc-aha-2020-severe-as-bioprosthesis",
        "label": "Patients with aortic stenosis who need valve intervention and for whom a bioprosthetic valve is suitable (ACC summary of the 2020 guideline)",
        "recipient": "unknown",
        "population": "Patients for whom a bioprosthetic valve is suitable, which the ACC summary groups under its points on aortic stenosis. Some of its rules name symptomatic patients and a few name an age range (65 to 80 years). The summary does not state an adult-only limit.",
        "care_setting": "Not stated in the ACC summary. The decision is described as one for a team and the patient to take together.",
        "geography": "Not stated in the ACC summary (issued by American societies; jurisdiction not verified)",
        "life_stage_note": "Not stated; the 65 to 80 year range applies to one rule only",
        "life_stage_terms": null,
        "gestational_age_min_days": null,
        "gestational_age_max_days": null,
        "gestational_age_basis": null,
        "postnatal_age_min_days": null,
        "postnatal_age_max_days": null,
        "gestational_age_status": null,
        "postnatal_age_status": null,
        "followup_description": "Not applicable (guideline context)",
        "eligibility": {
          "inclusion": [
            "Aortic stenosis needing valve intervention",
            "A bioprosthetic valve is suitable"
          ],
          "exclusion": [
            "Patients in whom a bioprosthesis is not appropriate"
          ]
        }
      },
      "evidence_stage": "guidance",
      "certainty": "not_assessed",
      "certainty_method": null,
      "limitations": "The source is the ACC key-perspectives summary (ACC content, hash only), not the guideline text. PubMed holds no abstract for the guideline and lists four corrections (2021-02-02, 2023-08-22, 2023-11-14 and 2024-09-17); their text was not read, so it is not known whether they change anything stated here. This claim does not link to records of the 2014 or 2017 documents.",
      "editorial_state": "draft",
      "checked_at": "2026-10-15",
      "next_review_due": null,
      "valid_from": null,
      "valid_to": null,
      "citations": [
        {
          "evidence_role": "supports",
          "locator": "Introduction, sentence 1",
          "applicability_note": "The 2020 guideline replaces the 2014 guideline and the 2017 focused update.",
          "snapshot": {
            "id": "cardio:acc-valve2020-key-perspectives-pt1-2026-10-15",
            "retrieved_at": "2026-10-15T13:52:57Z",
            "content_hash": "a22941b13dfac639c9e2466be0f0e80086c8f47a6b195e097915b63e7d1923aa",
            "source_effective_date": null,
            "public_archive_url": null,
            "source_state": "corrected"
          },
          "source": {
            "id": "cardio:acc-aha-2020-valve",
            "source_type": "guideline",
            "title": "2020 ACC/AHA Guideline for the Management of Patients With Valvular Heart Disease: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines",
            "canonical_url": "https://doi.org/10.1161/CIR.0000000000000923",
            "identifiers": [
              {
                "scheme": "doi",
                "value": "10.1161/CIR.0000000000000923",
                "normalized_value": "10.1161/cir.0000000000000923",
                "match": "exact",
                "version": null,
                "label": null,
                "from_source": false
              },
              {
                "scheme": "pmid",
                "value": "33332150",
                "normalized_value": "33332150",
                "match": "exact",
                "version": null,
                "label": null,
                "from_source": false
              }
            ],
            "publication_date": "2021-02-02",
            "publisher": "Circulation",
            "edition": "Published in Circulation 143(5):e72-e227 (issue date 2021-02-02; electronic publication 2020-12-17). PubMed bibliographic record only: PubMed holds no abstract and lists no PMC copy. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 4 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds snapshots of two ACC pages: Part 1 of 3 of the key perspectives (dated Dec 17, 2020) and the ACC article on what changed from the 2017 update. They are ACC summaries, not the guideline text; Parts 2 and 3 were not fetched. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it.",
            "reuse_basis": "PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed.  ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.",
            "public_text": "cite_only",
            "replaced_by": null,
            "retirement_note": null
          }
        },
        {
          "evidence_role": "context",
          "locator": "CommentsCorrectionsList, four ErratumIn entries",
          "applicability_note": "Shows that corrections exist. What they change is unknown.",
          "snapshot": {
            "id": "cardio:pubmed-33332150-2026-10-15",
            "retrieved_at": "2026-10-15T13:48:58Z",
            "content_hash": "2ef5af022a03211aee6564fe6d8b23521016ff4b0d6d4436ae989c0963c13a08",
            "source_effective_date": null,
            "public_archive_url": null,
            "source_state": "corrected"
          },
          "source": {
            "id": "cardio:acc-aha-2020-valve",
            "source_type": "guideline",
            "title": "2020 ACC/AHA Guideline for the Management of Patients With Valvular Heart Disease: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines",
            "canonical_url": "https://doi.org/10.1161/CIR.0000000000000923",
            "identifiers": [
              {
                "scheme": "doi",
                "value": "10.1161/CIR.0000000000000923",
                "normalized_value": "10.1161/cir.0000000000000923",
                "match": "exact",
                "version": null,
                "label": null,
                "from_source": false
              },
              {
                "scheme": "pmid",
                "value": "33332150",
                "normalized_value": "33332150",
                "match": "exact",
                "version": null,
                "label": null,
                "from_source": false
              }
            ],
            "publication_date": "2021-02-02",
            "publisher": "Circulation",
            "edition": "Published in Circulation 143(5):e72-e227 (issue date 2021-02-02; electronic publication 2020-12-17). PubMed bibliographic record only: PubMed holds no abstract and lists no PMC copy. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 4 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds snapshots of two ACC pages: Part 1 of 3 of the key perspectives (dated Dec 17, 2020) and the ACC article on what changed from the 2017 update. They are ACC summaries, not the guideline text; Parts 2 and 3 were not fetched. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it.",
            "reuse_basis": "PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed.  ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.",
            "public_text": "cite_only",
            "replaced_by": null,
            "retirement_note": null
          }
        }
      ],
      "review": {
        "content_digest": "7e622d2f0eeb9be60ab323b284b8c74c8ebf6549452e778f44639e910fb2c3aa",
        "current": [],
        "conflicting": [],
        "stale": [],
        "inactive": []
      },
      "api_path": "api/v1/claims/cardio--claim-acc-aha-2020-valve-replaces-2014.json"
    }
  ],
  "decisions": [],
  "milestones": [],
  "relationships": {
    "outgoing": [
      {
        "predicate": "authored_by",
        "label": "Co-issuer, with the American Heart Association (title)",
        "clinical_claim_not_fact": false,
        "family": "sourced",
        "other_entity_id": "core:acc",
        "other_entity_in_atlas": true,
        "claim_id": null,
        "evidence": {
          "snapshot_id": "cardio:pubmed-33332150-2026-10-15",
          "locator": "ArticleTitle, fragment 2 of 2"
        },
        "primary": false,
        "role": null,
        "valid_from": null,
        "valid_to": null
      },
      {
        "predicate": "authored_by",
        "label": "Co-issuer, with the American College of Cardiology (title)",
        "clinical_claim_not_fact": false,
        "family": "sourced",
        "other_entity_id": "core:aha",
        "other_entity_in_atlas": true,
        "claim_id": null,
        "evidence": {
          "snapshot_id": "cardio:pubmed-33332150-2026-10-15",
          "locator": "ArticleTitle, fragment 2 of 2"
        },
        "primary": false,
        "role": null,
        "valid_from": null,
        "valid_to": null
      }
    ],
    "incoming": []
  },
  "page_path": "guidelines/guideline-acc-aha-2020-valve/",
  "context_path": "api/v1/context/cardio--guideline-acc-aha-2020-valve.md"
}
