# 2020 ACC/AHA valvular heart disease guideline

Guideline · id `cardio:guideline-acc-aha-2020-valve` · Cardiovascular Atlas · release `5dcd9b263fe17744` (public)

> General information from published sources, not medical advice, and not reviewed by clinicians. Check the cited source before relying on anything here.

The atlas's own text and curation may be reused under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International (CC BY-NC 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/): credit the atlas, and do not use it commercially. See the atlas About page. Text quoted from a source stays under that source's own terms, given as the source's reuse\_basis. The atlas's reuse terms do not cover it. The downloads list each quotation with its source in third\_party\_quotations.

Browse, organ or system: Heart  
Browse, condition area: Valve and congenital heart disease  

## In plain language

The 2020 guideline on the management of people with heart valve disease from the American College of Cardiology and the American Heart Association. An ACC summary says it replaces the 2014 guideline and its 2017 focused update. PubMed holds no abstract for it. The advice on choosing between open surgery and a catheter valve comes from an ACC summary of Part 1 because the guideline text was not read.

## Technical summary

Circulation 2021;143(5):e72-e227, doi 10.1161/CIR.0000000000000923, PMID 33332150. Electronic publication 2020-12-17. Issued by the joint ACC/AHA committee on clinical practice guidelines. PubMed lists four corrections (2021-02-02, 2023-08-22, 2023-11-14 and 2024-09-17); their text was not read. Parts 2 and 3 of the ACC key perspectives were not fetched.

## Claims, with the population each applies to

## Context: Patients with aortic stenosis who need valve intervention and for whom a bioprosthetic valve is suitable (ACC summary of the 2020 guideline)

Recipient: Recipient not specified; Population: Patients for whom a bioprosthetic valve is suitable, which the ACC summary groups under its points on aortic stenosis. Some of its rules name symptomatic patients and a few name an age range (65 to 80 years). The summary does not state an adult-only limit.; Care setting: Not stated in the ACC summary. The decision is described as one for a team and the patient to take together.; Geography: Not stated in the ACC summary (issued by American societies; jurisdiction not verified); Life stage: Not stated; the 65 to 80 year range applies to one rule only; Gestational age: Not reported; Postnatal age: Not reported; Follow-up: Not applicable (guideline context)

### An ACC summary says the 2020 ACC/AHA valvular heart disease guideline supersedes the 2014 AHA/ACC guideline and the focused update issued in 2017.

- Category: Description
- Evidence stage: Guidance
- Certainty: Certainty not assessed
- Applies to: Recipient: Recipient not specified; Population: Patients for whom a bioprosthetic valve is suitable, which the ACC summary groups under its points on aortic stenosis. Some of its rules name symptomatic patients and a few name an age range (65 to 80 years). The summary does not state an adult-only limit.; Care setting: Not stated in the ACC summary. The decision is described as one for a team and the patient to take together.; Geography: Not stated in the ACC summary (issued by American societies; jurisdiction not verified); Life stage: Not stated; the 65 to 80 year range applies to one rule only; Gestational age: Not reported; Postnatal age: Not reported; Follow-up: Not applicable (guideline context)
- Limitations: The source is the ACC key-perspectives summary (ACC content, hash only), not the guideline text. PubMed holds no abstract for the guideline and lists four corrections (2021-02-02, 2023-08-22, 2023-11-14 and 2024-09-17); their text was not read, so it is not known whether they change anything stated here. This claim does not link to records of the 2014 or 2017 documents.
- Last checked: 2026-10-15
- Source problem: a cited source is corrected. Check the sources before relying on this claim.
- Sources:
  1. Supports: 2020 ACC/AHA Guideline for the Management of Patients With Valvular Heart Disease: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines (Guideline, edition Published in Circulation 143(5):e72-e227 (issue date 2021-02-02; electronic publication 2020-12-17). PubMed bibliographic record only: PubMed holds no abstract and lists no PMC copy. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 4 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds snapshots of two ACC pages: Part 1 of 3 of the key perspectives (dated Dec 17, 2020) and the ACC article on what changed from the 2017 update. They are ACC summaries, not the guideline text; Parts 2 and 3 were not fetched. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it.) <https://doi.org/10.1161/CIR.0000000000000923>
     Locator: Introduction, sentence 1. Retrieved 2026-10-15T13:52:57Z. Source state: Corrected. Snapshot hash: a22941b13dfac639c9e2466be0f0e80086c8f47a6b195e097915b63e7d1923aa.
     How it applies: The 2020 guideline replaces the 2014 guideline and the 2017 focused update.
  2. Background: 2020 ACC/AHA Guideline for the Management of Patients With Valvular Heart Disease: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines (Guideline, edition Published in Circulation 143(5):e72-e227 (issue date 2021-02-02; electronic publication 2020-12-17). PubMed bibliographic record only: PubMed holds no abstract and lists no PMC copy. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 4 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds snapshots of two ACC pages: Part 1 of 3 of the key perspectives (dated Dec 17, 2020) and the ACC article on what changed from the 2017 update. They are ACC summaries, not the guideline text; Parts 2 and 3 were not fetched. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it.) <https://doi.org/10.1161/CIR.0000000000000923>
     Locator: CommentsCorrectionsList, four ErratumIn entries. Retrieved 2026-10-15T13:48:58Z. Source state: Corrected. Snapshot hash: 2ef5af022a03211aee6564fe6d8b23521016ff4b0d6d4436ae989c0963c13a08.
     How it applies: Shows that corrections exist. What they change is unknown.

## Connected pages

- Co-issuer, with the American Heart Association (title): American College of Cardiology (`core:acc`)
- Co-issuer, with the American College of Cardiology (title): American Heart Association (`core:aha`)

## Provenance

Content hash: b10f72d3c375ae5216454d3743751012d7bc93775e8fd4526585bedfb5a9f608
Last substantive edit: 2026-10-15
Evidence last checked: 2026-10-15
