2023 ACC/AHA/ACCP/HRS atrial fibrillation guideline
The 2023 guideline on diagnosing and managing atrial fibrillation from the American College of Cardiology and the American Heart Association, with two more societies abbreviated in its title (ACCP and HRS). Its abstract says it updates recommendations from the 2014 guideline and the 2019 focused update, and adds new ones on thromboembolic risk, anticoagulation, left atrial appendage occlusion, ablation, and risk factor modification and AF prevention. The stroke prevention points on this site come from an ACC summary because the guideline text was not read.
- Guideline
- In this atlas
Overview
Technical summary
Circulation 2024;149(1):e1-e156, doi 10.1161/CIR.0000000000001193, PMID 38033089. Electronic publication 2023-11-30. Issued by the joint ACC/AHA committee on clinical practice guidelines. HRS has no record in this atlas. A PMC author manuscript (PMC11095842) exists but is not in the PMC Open Access subset, so it was not fetched. PubMed lists three corrections (2024-01-02, 2024-02-27 and 2024-06-11); their text was not read.
About this guideline
- Issued by
- Edition
- 2023 guideline
- Published
- 2023-11-30
- Status
- Not checked for a newer edition
Source
- Document
- 2023 ACC/AHA/ACCP/HRS Guideline for the Diagnosis and Management of Atrial Fibrillation: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines
- Publisher
- Circulation
- Edition note
- Published in Circulation 149(1):e1-e156 (issue date 2024-01-02; electronic publication 2023-11-30). PubMed abstract and bibliographic data only. PMC lists an author manuscript (PMC11095842) that is not in the PMC Open Access subset, so it was not fetched. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 3 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds a snapshot of the ACC key-perspectives summary page (dated Nov 30, 2023), an ACC summary and not the guideline text. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it.
Recommendations
No recommendation in this atlas names this guideline yet.
Claims and evidence
Context Patients with atrial fibrillation (ACC summary of the 2023 guideline)
- Recipient
- Recipient not specified
- Population
- Patients with atrial fibrillation. The ACC summary gives no age limits and, apart from the exceptions each claim names, no exclusions.
- Care setting
- Not stated in the ACC summary.
- Geography
- Not stated in the ACC summary (issued by American societies; jurisdiction not verified)
- Life stage
- Not stated in the ACC summary
- Gestational age
- Not reported
- Postnatal age
- Not reported
- Follow-up
- Not applicable (guideline context)
Eligibility: 1 inclusion criterion; exclusion criteria not stated
- Included
- Patients diagnosed with atrial fibrillation
- Excluded
- None stated
An ACC summary of the 2023 ACC/AHA atrial fibrillation guideline says that for patients whose estimated yearly chance of a stroke or thromboembolic event is 2% or more, therapy to lower stroke risk should follow that thromboembolic risk, whatever the AF pattern (paroxysmal, persistent, long-standing persistent and permanent alike).
Source problem. A cited source is corrected. Check the sources before relying on this claim.
Applies to Recipient not specified- Patients with atrial fibrillation. The ACC summary gives no age limits and, apart from the exceptions each claim names, no exclusions.
- Not stated in the ACC summary.
- Not stated in the ACC summary (issued by American societies; jurisdiction not verified)
- Not stated in the ACC summary
- Gestational age Not reported
- Postnatal age Not reported
- Certainty method
- Not assessed
- Limitations
- The source is the ACC key-perspectives summary of the guideline (ACC content, hash only), not the guideline text. The summary says stroke-reducing therapy, not oral anticoagulants by name, in this statement, so no recommendation record is written for it. It prints no class of recommendation for this statement, and it gives the treatment for lower-risk patients in text that could not be quoted. PubMed lists three corrections to the guideline (2024-01-02, 2024-02-27 and 2024-06-11); their text was not read, so it is not known whether they change anything stated here.
- Last checked
- 2026-10-15
- Next evidence check due
- Not scheduled
Sources and citations (2)
-
- Locator
- Key perspective 4, sentence 2, fragments 1 to 3
- How it applies
- Stroke-reducing therapy follows thromboembolic risk, not AF pattern, at an annual risk of 2% or more.
- Retrieved
- Source effective date
- Not reported
- Source state
- Corrected
- Snapshot hash
351ef6a153a9922b720e0ea62e3c8ccb64abd9945012b3992bb58528d3446453- Reuse basis
- PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
-
- Locator
- CommentsCorrectionsList, three ErratumIn entries
- How it applies
- Shows that corrections exist. What they change is unknown.
- Retrieved
- Source effective date
- Not reported
- Source state
- Corrected
- Snapshot hash
3ee3998a9178e8f21223e2388261924207d5e1f8fb19bf34e8355e11eb2c07a9- Reuse basis
- PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
An ACC summary of the 2023 ACC/AHA atrial fibrillation guideline says the guideline endorses using a validated clinical risk score to estimate stroke and thromboembolism risk; it gives CHA2DS2-VASc, ATRIA and GARFIELD-AF as examples.
Source problem. A cited source is corrected. Check the sources before relying on this claim.
Applies to Recipient not specified- Patients with atrial fibrillation. The ACC summary gives no age limits and, apart from the exceptions each claim names, no exclusions.
- Not stated in the ACC summary.
- Not stated in the ACC summary (issued by American societies; jurisdiction not verified)
- Not stated in the ACC summary
- Gestational age Not reported
- Postnatal age Not reported
- Certainty method
- Not assessed
- Limitations
- The source is the ACC key-perspectives summary of the guideline (ACC content, hash only), not the guideline text. The summary names three scores as examples and does not rank them. It gives no class of recommendation for this statement. PubMed lists three corrections to the guideline (2024-01-02, 2024-02-27 and 2024-06-11); their text was not read, so it is not known whether they change anything stated here.
- Last checked
- 2026-10-15
- Next evidence check due
- Not scheduled
Sources and citations (2)
-
- Locator
- Key perspective 3, sentence 1
- How it applies
- A validated clinical risk score is endorsed; three examples.
- Retrieved
- Source effective date
- Not reported
- Source state
- Corrected
- Snapshot hash
351ef6a153a9922b720e0ea62e3c8ccb64abd9945012b3992bb58528d3446453- Reuse basis
- PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
-
- Locator
- CommentsCorrectionsList, three ErratumIn entries
- How it applies
- Shows that corrections exist. What they change is unknown.
- Retrieved
- Source effective date
- Not reported
- Source state
- Corrected
- Snapshot hash
3ee3998a9178e8f21223e2388261924207d5e1f8fb19bf34e8355e11eb2c07a9- Reuse basis
- PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
Record details
- Record id
cardio:guideline-acc-aha-2023-af- Content hash
c1889f7ac7cb7e8e62228f5da230fa427ef72398689fe96526c867ea6cac71ae