Stroke as an outcome
Having a stroke during a study's follow-up. Each study decides what counts as a stroke.
- Outcome
- In this atlas
Overview
Technical summary
Stroke as a study endpoint. The meaning of stroke is the one described for core:stroke. Whether it counts fatal strokes, non-fatal strokes or only certain types, and the time window, belong to each finding and not to this outcome.
Definition
A stroke during a study's follow-up. What counts as a stroke is set by each study's own definition.
- Unit
- Not reported
Measured in
Studies in this atlas that report this outcome, by the claim each finding supports. Each finding keeps its own population, denominator and time window on the study page.
-
Primary endpoint China Salt Substitute and Stroke Study (SSaSS) See the findings
Applies to Recipient not specified- People who had had a stroke, or who were 60 years of age or older and had high blood pressure, living in rural villages in China. The registry defines high blood pressure as uncontrolled: systolic 140 mmHg or more on treatment, or 160 mmHg or more without treatment. In the trial 72.6% had a history of stroke and 88.4% a history of hypertension, and the mean age was 65.4 years. No source read gives a minimum age, and the past-stroke group has no stated age floor, so the recipient is recorded as unknown rather than adult. Pregnancy is not mentioned in the sources read.
- Rural villages in China, 600 of them. The registry names five Northern Chinese provinces and Tibet. A household phone was an entry requirement.
- Rural China: five Northern Chinese provinces and Tibet (registry description)
- Mixed ages with a mean of 65.4 years. Age 60 or over is required for people without a past stroke; no age floor is stated for people with one.
- Gestational age Not reported
- Postnatal age Not reported
In SSaSS, in rural Chinese villages, people who had had a stroke or were 60 or older with high blood pressure had fewer strokes when their village used a lower-sodium, potassium-enriched salt substitute, with ongoing dietary advice, than when it kept using regular salt. Over a mean follow-up of 4.74 years the stroke rate was 29.14 events per 1000 person-years with the substitute and 33.65 with regular salt (rate ratio 0.86, 95% CI 0.77 to 0.96).Limitations. One open-label, cluster-randomized trial in rural China. The result applies to people who had had a stroke or were 60 or over with high blood pressure and met the other entry rules, such as no potassium-sparing diuretic, potassium supplement or serious kidney impairment in the household. It does not show the same effect in other groups or places. The tested package is ongoing dietary advice plus the substitute, compared with dietary advice at baseline only (registry). The abstract calls the trial open-label, while the registry records masking as DOUBLE (investigator and outcomes assessor); the two are not reconciled. The registry counts 20996 participants and the abstract 20,995; the reason is unknown. Only the abstract and the registry were read: the NEJM full text returned HTTP 403 and no open copy exists, so event counts, person-years, per-arm intervals and any correction are not recorded.
Record details
- Record id
core:outcome-stroke- Content hash
2afcfc65752b8a6697ad60e43aa678faeea28ed41628497d3ea74f177cb539c4