2024 ESC atrial fibrillation guidelines
The 2024 atrial fibrillation guidelines of the European Society of Cardiology, developed jointly with a European cardio-thoracic surgery association. The ESC page says they are built around a framework called AF-CARE: comorbidities and risk factors first, then avoiding stroke, then rate and rhythm control, then evaluation over time. The ESC allows reuse of its guidelines only under its terms, so this atlas states what it read in its own words.
Also called 2024 ESC Guidelines for the management of atrial fibrillation developed in collaboration with the European Association for Cardio-Thoracic Surgery (EACTS)
- Guideline
- In this atlas
Overview
Technical summary
European Heart Journal 2024;45(36):3314-3414, doi 10.1093/eurheartj/ehae176, PMID 39210723. The ESC page dates the guideline 30 Aug, 2024. PubMed names the ESC Scientific Document Group as author, holds no abstract, lists no PMC copy and lists one correction (2025-11-03), whose text was not read. EACTS has no record in this atlas. Only the ESC page summary and the PubMed record were read; the recommendations were not.
About this guideline
- Issued by
- Edition
- 2024 guidelines
- Published
- 2024-08-30
- Status
- Not checked for a newer edition
Source
- Document
- 2024 ESC Guidelines for the management of atrial fibrillation developed in collaboration with the European Association for Cardio-Thoracic Surgery (EACTS)
- Publisher
- European Heart Journal
- Edition note
- Issued by the European Society of Cardiology, in collaboration with EACTS, and published in European Heart Journal 45(36):3314-3414 (PubMed issue date 2024-09-29; the ESC page dates the guideline 30 Aug, 2024). PubMed holds no abstract and lists no PMC copy; the guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 1 correction to the guideline; their text was not read. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it.
Recommendations
No recommendation in this atlas names this guideline yet.
Claims and evidence
Context Patients with atrial fibrillation (2024 ESC guideline)
- Recipient
- Recipient not specified
- Population
- Patients with atrial fibrillation. The ESC page summary gives no age limits and no inclusion criteria.
- Care setting
- Not stated on the ESC page.
- Geography
- Europe (a European Society of Cardiology guideline; the page names no jurisdiction)
- Life stage
- Not stated on the ESC page
- Gestational age
- Not reported
- Postnatal age
- Not reported
- Follow-up
- Not applicable (guideline context)
Eligibility: 1 inclusion criterion; exclusion criteria not stated
- Included
- Patients with atrial fibrillation
- Excluded
- None stated
The ESC page for the 2024 ESC atrial fibrillation guideline, dated 30 August 2024, says the task force developed a framework called AF-CARE for the guideline. The framework puts comorbidities and risk factors first, then avoiding stroke and thromboembolism, then reducing symptoms through rate and rhythm control, and finally individual evaluation and reassessment over time.
Source problem. A cited source is corrected. Check the sources before relying on this claim.
Applies to Recipient not specified- Patients with atrial fibrillation. The ESC page summary gives no age limits and no inclusion criteria.
- Not stated on the ESC page.
- Europe (a European Society of Cardiology guideline; the page names no jurisdiction)
- Not stated on the ESC page
- Gestational age Not reported
- Postnatal age Not reported
- Certainty method
- Not assessed
- Limitations
- Only the ESC page summary and the PubMed record (which holds no abstract) were read; the guideline text, its recommendations and their classes were not. ESC content is cite only, so this atlas states the summary in its own words. PubMed lists one correction (2025-11-03); its text was not read, so it is not known whether it changes anything stated here.
- Last checked
- 2026-10-15
- Next evidence check due
- Not scheduled
Sources and citations (5)
-
- Locator
- Summary paragraph 1, sentence 1, fragments 1 and 2
- How it applies
- The task force developed the AF-CARE framework.
- Retrieved
- Source effective date
- Not reported
- Source state
- Corrected
- Snapshot hash
f4692f3ade321c24fe6c176fc5cc597fcf6c1faf277ee973f9bd134c3d62e14e- Reuse basis
- ESC page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15, and a PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities the same day. Only hashes are kept; nothing is committed. The ESC page states that its guidelines are for personal or educational use with no commercial use, that re-use permission must be obtained from the publisher, and that the ESC reserves the right to license use of its guidelines to train generative AI models (EU Directive 2019/790, Article 4 section 3). Public text is cite_only: public pages state the guideline in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ESC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
-
- Locator
- Summary paragraph 2, sentence 1
- How it applies
- Comorbidities and risk factors come first.
- Retrieved
- Source effective date
- Not reported
- Source state
- Corrected
- Snapshot hash
f4692f3ade321c24fe6c176fc5cc597fcf6c1faf277ee973f9bd134c3d62e14e- Reuse basis
- ESC page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15, and a PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities the same day. Only hashes are kept; nothing is committed. The ESC page states that its guidelines are for personal or educational use with no commercial use, that re-use permission must be obtained from the publisher, and that the ESC reserves the right to license use of its guidelines to train generative AI models (EU Directive 2019/790, Article 4 section 3). Public text is cite_only: public pages state the guideline in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ESC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
-
- Locator
- Summary paragraph 2, sentence 3, fragments 1 and 2
- How it applies
- Then stroke avoidance, then rate and rhythm control.
- Retrieved
- Source effective date
- Not reported
- Source state
- Corrected
- Snapshot hash
f4692f3ade321c24fe6c176fc5cc597fcf6c1faf277ee973f9bd134c3d62e14e- Reuse basis
- ESC page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15, and a PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities the same day. Only hashes are kept; nothing is committed. The ESC page states that its guidelines are for personal or educational use with no commercial use, that re-use permission must be obtained from the publisher, and that the ESC reserves the right to license use of its guidelines to train generative AI models (EU Directive 2019/790, Article 4 section 3). Public text is cite_only: public pages state the guideline in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ESC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
-
- Locator
- Summary paragraph 2, sentence 4, fragments 1 and 2
- How it applies
- Evaluation and reassessment are individualised.
- Retrieved
- Source effective date
- Not reported
- Source state
- Corrected
- Snapshot hash
f4692f3ade321c24fe6c176fc5cc597fcf6c1faf277ee973f9bd134c3d62e14e- Reuse basis
- ESC page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15, and a PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities the same day. Only hashes are kept; nothing is committed. The ESC page states that its guidelines are for personal or educational use with no commercial use, that re-use permission must be obtained from the publisher, and that the ESC reserves the right to license use of its guidelines to train generative AI models (EU Directive 2019/790, Article 4 section 3). Public text is cite_only: public pages state the guideline in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ESC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
-
- Locator
- CommentsCorrectionsList, ErratumIn entry
- How it applies
- Shows that a correction exists. What it changes is unknown.
- Retrieved
- Source effective date
- Not reported
- Source state
- Corrected
- Snapshot hash
d1e19df4582f266be4c28fb304dded1b0ab0d5dd529a9ee1c995e235b663df5c- Reuse basis
- ESC page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15, and a PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities the same day. Only hashes are kept; nothing is committed. The ESC page states that its guidelines are for personal or educational use with no commercial use, that re-use permission must be obtained from the publisher, and that the ESC reserves the right to license use of its guidelines to train generative AI models (EU Directive 2019/790, Article 4 section 3). Public text is cite_only: public pages state the guideline in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ESC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
Record details
- Record id
cardio:guideline-esc-2024-af- Content hash
058c63b33e3b3fd63b617ba6a7f44d282728663e293b06ebfe1edf06235b5e9c