Stroke prevention in atrial fibrillation

The steps that an ACC summary of the 2023 guideline gives for lowering stroke risk in atrial fibrillation: estimate the risk with a validated score, base stroke-reducing treatment on that risk, favor a direct oral anticoagulant, do not swap in aspirin, and consider a catheter device that closes the left atrial appendage in some patients who cannot take blood thinners or have a high bleeding risk on them.

  • Care pathway
  • In this atlas

Overview

Technical summary

Care pathway built only from the ACC key-perspectives summary of the guideline (hash only, cite only), not the guideline text. Each step cites one claim, which carries its own limits. The summary prints classes of recommendation only for the appendage occlusion step. It also covers bleeding risk scores, device-detected episodes and combined treatment with coronary artery disease, which are not recorded here. PubMed lists three corrections to the guideline; their text was not read.

Applies to

Recipient
Recipient not specified
Population
Patients with atrial fibrillation. The ACC summary gives no age limits and, apart from the exceptions each claim names, no exclusions.
Care setting
Not stated in the ACC summary.
Geography
Not stated in the ACC summary (issued by American societies; jurisdiction not verified)
Life stage
Not stated in the ACC summary
Gestational age
Not reported
Postnatal age
Not reported
Follow-up
Not applicable (guideline context)
Eligibility: 1 inclusion criterion; exclusion criteria not stated
Included
  • Patients diagnosed with atrial fibrillation
Excluded
None stated

Steps

  1. Estimate stroke and thromboembolism risk

    The guideline endorses a validated clinical risk score and gives CHA2DS2-VASc, ATRIA and GARFIELD-AF as examples.

    • Recommendation Guidance Certainty not assessed

      An ACC summary of the 2023 ACC/AHA atrial fibrillation guideline says the guideline endorses using a validated clinical risk score to estimate stroke and thromboembolism risk; it gives CHA2DS2-VASc, ATRIA and GARFIELD-AF as examples.

      Source problem. A cited source is corrected. Check the sources before relying on this claim.

      Applies to Recipient not specified
      • Patients with atrial fibrillation. The ACC summary gives no age limits and, apart from the exceptions each claim names, no exclusions.
      • Not stated in the ACC summary.
      • Not stated in the ACC summary (issued by American societies; jurisdiction not verified)
      • Not stated in the ACC summary
      • Gestational age Not reported
      • Postnatal age Not reported
      Follow-up Not applicable (guideline context)
      Certainty method
      Not assessed
      Limitations
      The source is the ACC key-perspectives summary of the guideline (ACC content, hash only), not the guideline text. The summary names three scores as examples and does not rank them. It gives no class of recommendation for this statement. PubMed lists three corrections to the guideline (2024-01-02, 2024-02-27 and 2024-06-11); their text was not read, so it is not known whether they change anything stated here.
      Last checked
      2026-10-15
      Next evidence check due
      Not scheduled
      Sources and citations (2)
      1. Supports 2023 ACC/AHA/ACCP/HRS Guideline for the Diagnosis and Management of Atrial Fibrillation: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines

        Guideline · Circulation · Edition Published in Circulation 149(1):e1-e156 (issue date 2024-01-02; electronic publication 2023-11-30). PubMed abstract and bibliographic data only. PMC lists an author manuscript (PMC11095842) that is not in the PMC Open Access subset, so it was not fetched. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 3 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds a snapshot of the ACC key-perspectives summary page (dated Nov 30, 2023), an ACC summary and not the guideline text. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it. · Published 2024-01-02 · DOI: 10.1161/CIR.0000000000001193 · PMID: 38033089 · PMCID: PMC11095842

        Locator
        Key perspective 3, sentence 1
        How it applies
        A validated clinical risk score is endorsed; three examples.
        Retrieved
        Source effective date
        Not reported
        Source state
        Corrected
        Snapshot hash
        351ef6a153a9922b720e0ea62e3c8ccb64abd9945012b3992bb58528d3446453
        Reuse basis
        PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
      2. Background 2023 ACC/AHA/ACCP/HRS Guideline for the Diagnosis and Management of Atrial Fibrillation: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines

        Guideline · Circulation · Edition Published in Circulation 149(1):e1-e156 (issue date 2024-01-02; electronic publication 2023-11-30). PubMed abstract and bibliographic data only. PMC lists an author manuscript (PMC11095842) that is not in the PMC Open Access subset, so it was not fetched. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 3 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds a snapshot of the ACC key-perspectives summary page (dated Nov 30, 2023), an ACC summary and not the guideline text. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it. · Published 2024-01-02 · DOI: 10.1161/CIR.0000000000001193 · PMID: 38033089 · PMCID: PMC11095842

        Locator
        CommentsCorrectionsList, three ErratumIn entries
        How it applies
        Shows that corrections exist. What they change is unknown.
        Retrieved
        Source effective date
        Not reported
        Source state
        Corrected
        Snapshot hash
        3ee3998a9178e8f21223e2388261924207d5e1f8fb19bf34e8355e11eb2c07a9
        Reuse basis
        PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
  2. Base stroke-reducing therapy on that risk

    If: Yearly stroke or thromboembolism risk, as estimated, of 2% or more

    When the estimated yearly chance of a stroke or thromboembolic event is 2% or more, therapy follows that chance, not the pattern of atrial fibrillation.

    • Recommendation Guidance Certainty not assessed

      An ACC summary of the 2023 ACC/AHA atrial fibrillation guideline says that for patients whose estimated yearly chance of a stroke or thromboembolic event is 2% or more, therapy to lower stroke risk should follow that thromboembolic risk, whatever the AF pattern (paroxysmal, persistent, long-standing persistent and permanent alike).

      Source problem. A cited source is corrected. Check the sources before relying on this claim.

      Applies to Recipient not specified
      • Patients with atrial fibrillation. The ACC summary gives no age limits and, apart from the exceptions each claim names, no exclusions.
      • Not stated in the ACC summary.
      • Not stated in the ACC summary (issued by American societies; jurisdiction not verified)
      • Not stated in the ACC summary
      • Gestational age Not reported
      • Postnatal age Not reported
      Follow-up Not applicable (guideline context)
      Certainty method
      Not assessed
      Limitations
      The source is the ACC key-perspectives summary of the guideline (ACC content, hash only), not the guideline text. The summary says stroke-reducing therapy, not oral anticoagulants by name, in this statement, so no recommendation record is written for it. It prints no class of recommendation for this statement, and it gives the treatment for lower-risk patients in text that could not be quoted. PubMed lists three corrections to the guideline (2024-01-02, 2024-02-27 and 2024-06-11); their text was not read, so it is not known whether they change anything stated here.
      Last checked
      2026-10-15
      Next evidence check due
      Not scheduled
      Sources and citations (2)
      1. Supports 2023 ACC/AHA/ACCP/HRS Guideline for the Diagnosis and Management of Atrial Fibrillation: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines

        Guideline · Circulation · Edition Published in Circulation 149(1):e1-e156 (issue date 2024-01-02; electronic publication 2023-11-30). PubMed abstract and bibliographic data only. PMC lists an author manuscript (PMC11095842) that is not in the PMC Open Access subset, so it was not fetched. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 3 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds a snapshot of the ACC key-perspectives summary page (dated Nov 30, 2023), an ACC summary and not the guideline text. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it. · Published 2024-01-02 · DOI: 10.1161/CIR.0000000000001193 · PMID: 38033089 · PMCID: PMC11095842

        Locator
        Key perspective 4, sentence 2, fragments 1 to 3
        How it applies
        Stroke-reducing therapy follows thromboembolic risk, not AF pattern, at an annual risk of 2% or more.
        Retrieved
        Source effective date
        Not reported
        Source state
        Corrected
        Snapshot hash
        351ef6a153a9922b720e0ea62e3c8ccb64abd9945012b3992bb58528d3446453
        Reuse basis
        PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
      2. Background 2023 ACC/AHA/ACCP/HRS Guideline for the Diagnosis and Management of Atrial Fibrillation: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines

        Guideline · Circulation · Edition Published in Circulation 149(1):e1-e156 (issue date 2024-01-02; electronic publication 2023-11-30). PubMed abstract and bibliographic data only. PMC lists an author manuscript (PMC11095842) that is not in the PMC Open Access subset, so it was not fetched. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 3 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds a snapshot of the ACC key-perspectives summary page (dated Nov 30, 2023), an ACC summary and not the guideline text. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it. · Published 2024-01-02 · DOI: 10.1161/CIR.0000000000001193 · PMID: 38033089 · PMCID: PMC11095842

        Locator
        CommentsCorrectionsList, three ErratumIn entries
        How it applies
        Shows that corrections exist. What they change is unknown.
        Retrieved
        Source effective date
        Not reported
        Source state
        Corrected
        Snapshot hash
        3ee3998a9178e8f21223e2388261924207d5e1f8fb19bf34e8355e11eb2c07a9
        Reuse basis
        PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
  3. Choose the anticoagulant

    If: Does not apply to mitral stenosis or a mechanical heart valve

    Direct oral anticoagulants rather than warfarin are favored.

    • Recommendation Guidance Certainty not assessed

      An ACC summary of the 2023 ACC/AHA atrial fibrillation guideline says that, apart from patients who have mitral stenosis or a mechanical heart valve, direct oral anticoagulants rather than warfarin are the preferred choice.

      Source problem. A cited source is corrected. Check the sources before relying on this claim.

      Applies to Recipient not specified
      • Patients with atrial fibrillation. The ACC summary gives no age limits and, apart from the exceptions each claim names, no exclusions.
      • Not stated in the ACC summary.
      • Not stated in the ACC summary (issued by American societies; jurisdiction not verified)
      • Not stated in the ACC summary
      • Gestational age Not reported
      • Postnatal age Not reported
      Follow-up Not applicable (guideline context)
      Certainty method
      Not assessed
      Limitations
      The source is the ACC key-perspectives summary of the guideline (ACC content, hash only), not the guideline text. The summary prints no class of recommendation for this statement and does not say what is preferred in the two exceptions. PubMed lists three corrections to the guideline (2024-01-02, 2024-02-27 and 2024-06-11); their text was not read, so it is not known whether they change anything stated here.
      Last checked
      2026-10-15
      Next evidence check due
      Not scheduled
      Sources and citations (2)
      1. Supports 2023 ACC/AHA/ACCP/HRS Guideline for the Diagnosis and Management of Atrial Fibrillation: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines

        Guideline · Circulation · Edition Published in Circulation 149(1):e1-e156 (issue date 2024-01-02; electronic publication 2023-11-30). PubMed abstract and bibliographic data only. PMC lists an author manuscript (PMC11095842) that is not in the PMC Open Access subset, so it was not fetched. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 3 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds a snapshot of the ACC key-perspectives summary page (dated Nov 30, 2023), an ACC summary and not the guideline text. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it. · Published 2024-01-02 · DOI: 10.1161/CIR.0000000000001193 · PMID: 38033089 · PMCID: PMC11095842

        Locator
        Key perspective 4, sentence 3
        How it applies
        Direct oral anticoagulants preferred over warfarin, with two exceptions.
        Retrieved
        Source effective date
        Not reported
        Source state
        Corrected
        Snapshot hash
        351ef6a153a9922b720e0ea62e3c8ccb64abd9945012b3992bb58528d3446453
        Reuse basis
        PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
      2. Background 2023 ACC/AHA/ACCP/HRS Guideline for the Diagnosis and Management of Atrial Fibrillation: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines

        Guideline · Circulation · Edition Published in Circulation 149(1):e1-e156 (issue date 2024-01-02; electronic publication 2023-11-30). PubMed abstract and bibliographic data only. PMC lists an author manuscript (PMC11095842) that is not in the PMC Open Access subset, so it was not fetched. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 3 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds a snapshot of the ACC key-perspectives summary page (dated Nov 30, 2023), an ACC summary and not the guideline text. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it. · Published 2024-01-02 · DOI: 10.1161/CIR.0000000000001193 · PMID: 38033089 · PMCID: PMC11095842

        Locator
        CommentsCorrectionsList, three ErratumIn entries
        How it applies
        Shows that corrections exist. What they change is unknown.
        Retrieved
        Source effective date
        Not reported
        Source state
        Corrected
        Snapshot hash
        3ee3998a9178e8f21223e2388261924207d5e1f8fb19bf34e8355e11eb2c07a9
        Reuse basis
        PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
  4. Do not use aspirin in place of an anticoagulant

    If: Patients who could take an anticoagulant and have no other reason for antiplatelet therapy

    Aspirin alone, or with clopidogrel, is not recommended as a substitute for anticoagulation to prevent stroke.

    • Recommendation Guidance Certainty not assessed

      An ACC summary of the 2023 ACC/AHA atrial fibrillation guideline says that for patients who could take an anticoagulant and have no other reason for antiplatelet therapy, aspirin on its own or with clopidogrel is not recommended as a substitute for anticoagulation to lower stroke risk.

      Source problem. A cited source is corrected. Check the sources before relying on this claim.

      Applies to Recipient not specified
      • Patients with atrial fibrillation. The ACC summary gives no age limits and, apart from the exceptions each claim names, no exclusions.
      • Not stated in the ACC summary.
      • Not stated in the ACC summary (issued by American societies; jurisdiction not verified)
      • Not stated in the ACC summary
      • Gestational age Not reported
      • Postnatal age Not reported
      Follow-up Not applicable (guideline context)
      Certainty method
      Not assessed
      Limitations
      The source is the ACC key-perspectives summary of the guideline (ACC content, hash only), not the guideline text. The summary prints no class of recommendation for this statement. It speaks of patients who could take an anticoagulant; it does not address people who cannot take one. PubMed lists three corrections to the guideline (2024-01-02, 2024-02-27 and 2024-06-11); their text was not read, so it is not known whether they change anything stated here.
      Last checked
      2026-10-15
      Next evidence check due
      Not scheduled
      Sources and citations (2)
      1. Supports 2023 ACC/AHA/ACCP/HRS Guideline for the Diagnosis and Management of Atrial Fibrillation: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines

        Guideline · Circulation · Edition Published in Circulation 149(1):e1-e156 (issue date 2024-01-02; electronic publication 2023-11-30). PubMed abstract and bibliographic data only. PMC lists an author manuscript (PMC11095842) that is not in the PMC Open Access subset, so it was not fetched. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 3 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds a snapshot of the ACC key-perspectives summary page (dated Nov 30, 2023), an ACC summary and not the guideline text. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it. · Published 2024-01-02 · DOI: 10.1161/CIR.0000000000001193 · PMID: 38033089 · PMCID: PMC11095842

        Locator
        Key perspective 4, sentence 4, fragments 1 and 2
        How it applies
        Aspirin, alone or with clopidogrel, is not an alternative to anticoagulation.
        Retrieved
        Source effective date
        Not reported
        Source state
        Corrected
        Snapshot hash
        351ef6a153a9922b720e0ea62e3c8ccb64abd9945012b3992bb58528d3446453
        Reuse basis
        PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
      2. Background 2023 ACC/AHA/ACCP/HRS Guideline for the Diagnosis and Management of Atrial Fibrillation: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines

        Guideline · Circulation · Edition Published in Circulation 149(1):e1-e156 (issue date 2024-01-02; electronic publication 2023-11-30). PubMed abstract and bibliographic data only. PMC lists an author manuscript (PMC11095842) that is not in the PMC Open Access subset, so it was not fetched. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 3 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds a snapshot of the ACC key-perspectives summary page (dated Nov 30, 2023), an ACC summary and not the guideline text. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it. · Published 2024-01-02 · DOI: 10.1161/CIR.0000000000001193 · PMID: 38033089 · PMCID: PMC11095842

        Locator
        CommentsCorrectionsList, three ErratumIn entries
        How it applies
        Shows that corrections exist. What they change is unknown.
        Retrieved
        Source effective date
        Not reported
        Source state
        Corrected
        Snapshot hash
        3ee3998a9178e8f21223e2388261924207d5e1f8fb19bf34e8355e11eb2c07a9
        Reuse basis
        PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
  5. Consider left atrial appendage occlusion

    If: CHA2DS2-VASc score of 2 or more with a medical reason not to take anticoagulants long term; or moderate to high stroke risk with a high chance of serious bleeding on them

    A catheter device that closes off the left atrial appendage is reasonable (class 2a) for patients with a CHA2DS2-VASc score of 2 or more who have a medical reason not to take long-term anticoagulation, and might reasonably replace anticoagulation (class 2b) when stroke risk is moderate to high and bleeding risk on anticoagulants is high.

    • Recommendation Guidance Certainty not assessed

      An ACC summary of the 2023 ACC/AHA atrial fibrillation guideline says percutaneous left atrial appendage occlusion is reasonable (class 2a) for patients with a CHA2DS2-VASc score of 2 or more who have a medical reason not to take anticoagulants over the long term, and might reasonably be used instead of anticoagulation (class 2b) for patients at moderate or high stroke risk who also face a high chance of serious bleeding while taking anticoagulants.

      Source problem. A cited source is corrected. Check the sources before relying on this claim.

      Applies to Recipient not specified
      • Patients with atrial fibrillation. The ACC summary gives no age limits and, apart from the exceptions each claim names, no exclusions.
      • Not stated in the ACC summary.
      • Not stated in the ACC summary (issued by American societies; jurisdiction not verified)
      • Not stated in the ACC summary
      • Gestational age Not reported
      • Postnatal age Not reported
      Follow-up Not applicable (guideline context)
      Certainty method
      Not assessed
      Limitations
      The source is the ACC key-perspectives summary of the guideline (ACC content, hash only), not the guideline text. The classes of recommendation are as printed on the ACC page. These are weaker recommendations than a plain recommendation, so no recommendation record is written for them. PubMed lists three corrections to the guideline (2024-01-02, 2024-02-27 and 2024-06-11); their text was not read, so it is not known whether they change anything stated here.
      Last checked
      2026-10-15
      Next evidence check due
      Not scheduled
      Sources and citations (3)
      1. Supports 2023 ACC/AHA/ACCP/HRS Guideline for the Diagnosis and Management of Atrial Fibrillation: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines

        Guideline · Circulation · Edition Published in Circulation 149(1):e1-e156 (issue date 2024-01-02; electronic publication 2023-11-30). PubMed abstract and bibliographic data only. PMC lists an author manuscript (PMC11095842) that is not in the PMC Open Access subset, so it was not fetched. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 3 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds a snapshot of the ACC key-perspectives summary page (dated Nov 30, 2023), an ACC summary and not the guideline text. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it. · Published 2024-01-02 · DOI: 10.1161/CIR.0000000000001193 · PMID: 38033089 · PMCID: PMC11095842

        Locator
        Key perspective 7, sentence 2
        How it applies
        Class 2a for a contraindication to long-term anticoagulation.
        Retrieved
        Source effective date
        Not reported
        Source state
        Corrected
        Snapshot hash
        351ef6a153a9922b720e0ea62e3c8ccb64abd9945012b3992bb58528d3446453
        Reuse basis
        PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
      2. Supports 2023 ACC/AHA/ACCP/HRS Guideline for the Diagnosis and Management of Atrial Fibrillation: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines

        Guideline · Circulation · Edition Published in Circulation 149(1):e1-e156 (issue date 2024-01-02; electronic publication 2023-11-30). PubMed abstract and bibliographic data only. PMC lists an author manuscript (PMC11095842) that is not in the PMC Open Access subset, so it was not fetched. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 3 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds a snapshot of the ACC key-perspectives summary page (dated Nov 30, 2023), an ACC summary and not the guideline text. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it. · Published 2024-01-02 · DOI: 10.1161/CIR.0000000000001193 · PMID: 38033089 · PMCID: PMC11095842

        Locator
        Key perspective 7, sentence 3, fragments 1 and 2
        How it applies
        Class 2b for a high bleeding risk on anticoagulation.
        Retrieved
        Source effective date
        Not reported
        Source state
        Corrected
        Snapshot hash
        351ef6a153a9922b720e0ea62e3c8ccb64abd9945012b3992bb58528d3446453
        Reuse basis
        PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.
      3. Background 2023 ACC/AHA/ACCP/HRS Guideline for the Diagnosis and Management of Atrial Fibrillation: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines

        Guideline · Circulation · Edition Published in Circulation 149(1):e1-e156 (issue date 2024-01-02; electronic publication 2023-11-30). PubMed abstract and bibliographic data only. PMC lists an author manuscript (PMC11095842) that is not in the PMC Open Access subset, so it was not fetched. The guideline text was not read. PubMed lists 3 corrections to the guideline; their text was not read. The same source also holds a snapshot of the ACC key-perspectives summary page (dated Nov 30, 2023), an ACC summary and not the guideline text. In the page markup some less-than symbols hide the text that follows them, so only passages free of such symbols are quoted. The publisher field is the journal title as PubMed gives it. · Published 2024-01-02 · DOI: 10.1161/CIR.0000000000001193 · PMID: 38033089 · PMCID: PMC11095842

        Locator
        CommentsCorrectionsList, three ErratumIn entries
        How it applies
        Shows that corrections exist. What they change is unknown.
        Retrieved
        Source effective date
        Not reported
        Source state
        Corrected
        Snapshot hash
        3ee3998a9178e8f21223e2388261924207d5e1f8fb19bf34e8355e11eb2c07a9
        Reuse basis
        PubMed record and ACC page. PubMed record fetched through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. The full text was not redistributed and the societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. ACC web page fetched with a plain Mozilla/5.0 user agent on 2026-10-15. Only the hash of the bytes is kept; nothing is committed. The ACC's reuse terms were not read, so public text is cite_only: public pages state the summary in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no ACC wording. Quote rows are short evidence fragments for the reviewer.

Record details

Record id
cardio:pathway-af-stroke-prevention
Content hash
1798c0318dc45240f491acdc6deb6b2fa6249476434f01871f02e537319a8191