2025 AHA/ACC high blood pressure guideline

The 2025 guideline from the American Heart Association and the American College of Cardiology, with other societies, on preventing, detecting, evaluating and managing high blood pressure in adults. Its abstract says it replaces the 2017 guideline. Only the abstract could be read, so this page does not give the guideline's thresholds, targets or recommendations.

Also called 2025 AHA/ACC guideline for high blood pressure in adults

  • Publication
  • In this atlas

Overview

Technical summary

Circulation 2025;152(11):e114-e218. doi:10.1161/CIR.0000000000001356. PMID 40811497. Issued as a report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines, with other societies named in the title. Co-published in JACC 86(18):1567-1678, doi:10.1016/j.jacc.2025.05.007. Publisher pages returned HTTP 403, so this is a publication identity with one descriptive claim. Three corrections to the Circulation version are listed in PubMed, and their text was not read.

Bibliographic identity

Type
Guideline
Source
2025 AHA/ACC/AANP/AAPA/ABC/ACCP/ACPM/AGS/AMA/ASPC/NMA/PCNA/SGIM Guideline for the Prevention, Detection, Evaluation and Management of High Blood Pressure in Adults
Edition
Issued by the American College of Cardiology and the American Heart Association with other societies named in the title. Published in Circulation 152(11):e114-e218 and co-published in JACC 86(18):1567-1678. The publisher field is the Circulation publisher as Crossref names it. Abstract and bibliographic records only. The Circulation abstract comes from PubMed (electronic publication 2025-08-14, issue date 2025-09-16). The JACC co-publication is known from Crossref. Both publisher pages returned HTTP 403 and Europe PMC lists the full text as subscription required, so the guideline text was not read. PubMed lists three corrections to the Circulation version (2025-11-11, 2026-04-14 and 2026-05-26) and Crossref lists two to the JACC version. None of their text was read.
Publisher
Ovid Technologies (Wolters Kluwer Health)
Published
2025-09-16

Claims and evidence

Context Adults (2025 AHA/ACC high blood pressure guideline)

Recipient
Adult
Population
Adults, as the guideline title states. The abstract gives no inclusion or exclusion criteria, so age limits, special populations and pregnancy handling are not known from the sources read.
Care setting
Aimed at primary care and specialty clinicians who manage patients with hypertension, as the abstract states
Geography
Not stated in the abstract (issued by American societies; jurisdiction not verified)
Life stage
Adult
Follow-up
Not applicable (guideline context)
Eligibility: 1 inclusion criterion; exclusion criteria not stated
Included
  • Adults (from the guideline title)
Excluded
None stated
  • Description Guidance Certainty not assessed

    The abstract of the 2025 AHA/ACC guideline on high blood pressure in adults says that it "retires and replaces" the 2017 ACC/AHA guideline on the same subject.

    Source problem. A cited source is corrected. Check the sources before relying on this claim.

    Applies to Adult
    • Adults, as the guideline title states. The abstract gives no inclusion or exclusion criteria, so age limits, special populations and pregnancy handling are not known from the sources read.
    • Aimed at primary care and specialty clinicians who manage patients with hypertension, as the abstract states
    • Not stated in the abstract (issued by American societies; jurisdiction not verified)
    • Adult
    Follow-up Not applicable (guideline context)
    Certainty method
    Not assessed
    Limitations
    Only the abstract and bibliographic records were read. The full text was not reachable (HTTP 403 at the publisher), so no definition, threshold, target, recommendation, class of recommendation or level of evidence from the guideline is recorded. Three corrections to the Circulation version and two to the JACC version are listed. Their text was not read, so it is not known whether they change anything the abstract says. This claim states the replacement. It does not link to a record of the 2017 guideline.
    Last checked
    Not recorded
    Next evidence check due
    Not scheduled
    Sources and citations (4)
    1. Supports 2025 AHA/ACC/AANP/AAPA/ABC/ACCP/ACPM/AGS/AMA/ASPC/NMA/PCNA/SGIM Guideline for the Prevention, Detection, Evaluation and Management of High Blood Pressure in Adults

      Guideline · Ovid Technologies (Wolters Kluwer Health) · Edition Issued by the American College of Cardiology and the American Heart Association with other societies named in the title. Published in Circulation 152(11):e114-e218 and co-published in JACC 86(18):1567-1678. The publisher field is the Circulation publisher as Crossref names it. Abstract and bibliographic records only. The Circulation abstract comes from PubMed (electronic publication 2025-08-14, issue date 2025-09-16). The JACC co-publication is known from Crossref. Both publisher pages returned HTTP 403 and Europe PMC lists the full text as subscription required, so the guideline text was not read. PubMed lists three corrections to the Circulation version (2025-11-11, 2026-04-14 and 2026-05-26) and Crossref lists two to the JACC version. None of their text was read. · Published 2025-09-16 · doi: 10.1161/CIR.0000000000001356

      Locator
      Abstract, AIM
      How it applies
      PubMed abstract of the Circulation version of the 2025 guideline.
      Retrieved
      Source effective date
      Not reported
      Source state
      Corrected
      Snapshot hash
      9e027f3d68d4bfdb87610ed25b0bc4da961cdb43254f5421faf962074220c710
      Reuse basis
      Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. Full text not reachable and not redistributed. Hashes only; nothing is committed. The societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. Public text is quote under the PubMed abstract rule: only short quotations from the PubMed abstract (under 25 words each) are used, with attribution.
    2. Background 2025 AHA/ACC/AANP/AAPA/ABC/ACCP/ACPM/AGS/AMA/ASPC/NMA/PCNA/SGIM Guideline for the Prevention, Detection, Evaluation and Management of High Blood Pressure in Adults

      Guideline · Ovid Technologies (Wolters Kluwer Health) · Edition Issued by the American College of Cardiology and the American Heart Association with other societies named in the title. Published in Circulation 152(11):e114-e218 and co-published in JACC 86(18):1567-1678. The publisher field is the Circulation publisher as Crossref names it. Abstract and bibliographic records only. The Circulation abstract comes from PubMed (electronic publication 2025-08-14, issue date 2025-09-16). The JACC co-publication is known from Crossref. Both publisher pages returned HTTP 403 and Europe PMC lists the full text as subscription required, so the guideline text was not read. PubMed lists three corrections to the Circulation version (2025-11-11, 2026-04-14 and 2026-05-26) and Crossref lists two to the JACC version. None of their text was read. · Published 2025-09-16 · doi: 10.1161/CIR.0000000000001356

      Locator
      Abstract, METHODS and STRUCTURE
      How it applies
      How the evidence was searched, and whom the guideline is for.
      Retrieved
      Source effective date
      Not reported
      Source state
      Corrected
      Snapshot hash
      9e027f3d68d4bfdb87610ed25b0bc4da961cdb43254f5421faf962074220c710
      Reuse basis
      Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. Full text not reachable and not redistributed. Hashes only; nothing is committed. The societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. Public text is quote under the PubMed abstract rule: only short quotations from the PubMed abstract (under 25 words each) are used, with attribution.
    3. Background 2025 AHA/ACC/AANP/AAPA/ABC/ACCP/ACPM/AGS/AMA/ASPC/NMA/PCNA/SGIM Guideline for the Prevention, Detection, Evaluation and Management of High Blood Pressure in Adults

      Guideline · Ovid Technologies (Wolters Kluwer Health) · Edition Issued by the American College of Cardiology and the American Heart Association with other societies named in the title. Published in Circulation 152(11):e114-e218 and co-published in JACC 86(18):1567-1678. The publisher field is the Circulation publisher as Crossref names it. Abstract and bibliographic records only. The Circulation abstract comes from PubMed (electronic publication 2025-08-14, issue date 2025-09-16). The JACC co-publication is known from Crossref. Both publisher pages returned HTTP 403 and Europe PMC lists the full text as subscription required, so the guideline text was not read. PubMed lists three corrections to the Circulation version (2025-11-11, 2026-04-14 and 2026-05-26) and Crossref lists two to the JACC version. None of their text was read. · Published 2025-09-16 · doi: 10.1161/CIR.0000000000001356

      Locator
      CommentsCorrectionsList, three ErratumIn entries
      How it applies
      Shows that corrections exist. What they change is unknown.
      Retrieved
      Source effective date
      Not reported
      Source state
      Corrected
      Snapshot hash
      9e027f3d68d4bfdb87610ed25b0bc4da961cdb43254f5421faf962074220c710
      Reuse basis
      Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. Full text not reachable and not redistributed. Hashes only; nothing is committed. The societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. Public text is quote under the PubMed abstract rule: only short quotations from the PubMed abstract (under 25 words each) are used, with attribution.
    4. Background 2025 AHA/ACC/AANP/AAPA/ABC/ACCP/ACPM/AGS/AMA/ASPC/NMA/PCNA/SGIM Guideline for the Prevention, Detection, Evaluation and Management of High Blood Pressure in Adults

      Guideline · Ovid Technologies (Wolters Kluwer Health) · Edition Issued by the American College of Cardiology and the American Heart Association with other societies named in the title. Published in Circulation 152(11):e114-e218 and co-published in JACC 86(18):1567-1678. The publisher field is the Circulation publisher as Crossref names it. Abstract and bibliographic records only. The Circulation abstract comes from PubMed (electronic publication 2025-08-14, issue date 2025-09-16). The JACC co-publication is known from Crossref. Both publisher pages returned HTTP 403 and Europe PMC lists the full text as subscription required, so the guideline text was not read. PubMed lists three corrections to the Circulation version (2025-11-11, 2026-04-14 and 2026-05-26) and Crossref lists two to the JACC version. None of their text was read. · Published 2025-09-16 · doi: 10.1161/CIR.0000000000001356

      Locator
      message.updated-by, two entries
      How it applies
      Crossref lists two corrections to the JACC co-publication. What they change is unknown.
      Retrieved
      Source effective date
      Not reported
      Source state
      Corrected
      Snapshot hash
      09bef8125ff0d467b57cbcd98e3d62e6a6f74fdabbbbbee3689a5288a8e8269f
      Reuse basis
      Bibliographic metadata and short quotations from the PubMed abstract, under 25 words each. Full text not reachable and not redistributed. Hashes only; nothing is committed. The societies' reuse terms were not reviewed. Public text is quote under the PubMed abstract rule: only short quotations from the PubMed abstract (under 25 words each) are used, with attribution.

Record details

Record id
cardio:pub-aha-acc-2025-hbp
Content hash
e1593294a9028bafb8498d78c60e5c4cca04977b8b5a5be39b4e5aed056e1611