# 2025 AHA/ACC high blood pressure guideline

Publication · id `cardio:pub-aha-acc-2025-hbp` · Cardiovascular Atlas · release `2b2017b84496b985` (public)

> General information from published sources, not medical advice, and not reviewed by clinicians. Check the cited source before relying on anything here.

The atlas's own text and curation may be reused under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International (CC BY-NC 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/): credit the atlas, and do not use it commercially. See the atlas About page. Text quoted from a source stays under that source's own terms, given as the source's reuse\_basis. The atlas's reuse terms do not cover it. The downloads list each quotation with its source in third\_party\_quotations.

Also called: 2025 AHA/ACC guideline for high blood pressure in adults

Browse, condition area: High blood pressure  

## In plain language

The 2025 guideline from the American Heart Association and the American College of Cardiology, with other societies, on preventing, detecting, evaluating and managing high blood pressure in adults. Its abstract says it replaces the 2017 guideline. Only the abstract could be read, so this page does not give the guideline's thresholds, targets or recommendations.

## Technical summary

Circulation 2025;152(11):e114-e218. doi:10.1161/CIR.0000000000001356. PMID 40811497. Issued as a report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines, with other societies named in the title. Co-published in JACC 86(18):1567-1678, doi:10.1016/j.jacc.2025.05.007. Publisher pages returned HTTP 403, so this is a publication identity with one descriptive claim. Three corrections to the Circulation version are listed in PubMed, and their text was not read.

## Claims, with the population each applies to

## Context: Adults (2025 AHA/ACC high blood pressure guideline)

Recipient: Adult; Population: Adults, as the guideline title states. The abstract gives no inclusion or exclusion criteria, so age limits, special populations and pregnancy handling are not known from the sources read.; Care setting: Aimed at primary care and specialty clinicians who manage patients with hypertension, as the abstract states; Geography: Not stated in the abstract (issued by American societies; jurisdiction not verified); Life stage: Adult; Follow-up: Not applicable (guideline context)

### The abstract of the 2025 AHA/ACC guideline on high blood pressure in adults says that it "retires and replaces" the 2017 ACC/AHA guideline on the same subject.

- Category: Description
- Evidence stage: Guidance
- Certainty: Certainty not assessed
- Applies to: Recipient: Adult; Population: Adults, as the guideline title states. The abstract gives no inclusion or exclusion criteria, so age limits, special populations and pregnancy handling are not known from the sources read.; Care setting: Aimed at primary care and specialty clinicians who manage patients with hypertension, as the abstract states; Geography: Not stated in the abstract (issued by American societies; jurisdiction not verified); Life stage: Adult; Follow-up: Not applicable (guideline context)
- Limitations: Only the abstract and bibliographic records were read. The full text was not reachable (HTTP 403 at the publisher), so no definition, threshold, target, recommendation, class of recommendation or level of evidence from the guideline is recorded. Three corrections to the Circulation version and two to the JACC version are listed. Their text was not read, so it is not known whether they change anything the abstract says. This claim states the replacement. It does not link to a record of the 2017 guideline.
- Last checked: Not recorded
- Source problem: a cited source is corrected. Check the sources before relying on this claim.
- Sources:
  1. Supports: 2025 AHA/ACC/AANP/AAPA/ABC/ACCP/ACPM/AGS/AMA/ASPC/NMA/PCNA/SGIM Guideline for the Prevention, Detection, Evaluation and Management of High Blood Pressure in Adults (Guideline, edition Issued by the American College of Cardiology and the American Heart Association with other societies named in the title. Published in Circulation 152(11):e114-e218 and co-published in JACC 86(18):1567-1678. The publisher field is the Circulation publisher as Crossref names it. Abstract and bibliographic records only. The Circulation abstract comes from PubMed (electronic publication 2025-08-14, issue date 2025-09-16). The JACC co-publication is known from Crossref. Both publisher pages returned HTTP 403 and Europe PMC lists the full text as subscription required, so the guideline text was not read. PubMed lists three corrections to the Circulation version (2025-11-11, 2026-04-14 and 2026-05-26) and Crossref lists two to the JACC version. None of their text was read.) <https://doi.org/10.1161/CIR.0000000000001356>
     Locator: Abstract, AIM. Retrieved 2026-10-11T19:12:26Z. Source state: Corrected. Snapshot hash: 9e027f3d68d4bfdb87610ed25b0bc4da961cdb43254f5421faf962074220c710.
     How it applies: PubMed abstract of the Circulation version of the 2025 guideline.
  2. Background: 2025 AHA/ACC/AANP/AAPA/ABC/ACCP/ACPM/AGS/AMA/ASPC/NMA/PCNA/SGIM Guideline for the Prevention, Detection, Evaluation and Management of High Blood Pressure in Adults (Guideline, edition Issued by the American College of Cardiology and the American Heart Association with other societies named in the title. Published in Circulation 152(11):e114-e218 and co-published in JACC 86(18):1567-1678. The publisher field is the Circulation publisher as Crossref names it. Abstract and bibliographic records only. The Circulation abstract comes from PubMed (electronic publication 2025-08-14, issue date 2025-09-16). The JACC co-publication is known from Crossref. Both publisher pages returned HTTP 403 and Europe PMC lists the full text as subscription required, so the guideline text was not read. PubMed lists three corrections to the Circulation version (2025-11-11, 2026-04-14 and 2026-05-26) and Crossref lists two to the JACC version. None of their text was read.) <https://doi.org/10.1161/CIR.0000000000001356>
     Locator: Abstract, METHODS and STRUCTURE. Retrieved 2026-10-11T19:12:26Z. Source state: Corrected. Snapshot hash: 9e027f3d68d4bfdb87610ed25b0bc4da961cdb43254f5421faf962074220c710.
     How it applies: How the evidence was searched, and whom the guideline is for.
  3. Background: 2025 AHA/ACC/AANP/AAPA/ABC/ACCP/ACPM/AGS/AMA/ASPC/NMA/PCNA/SGIM Guideline for the Prevention, Detection, Evaluation and Management of High Blood Pressure in Adults (Guideline, edition Issued by the American College of Cardiology and the American Heart Association with other societies named in the title. Published in Circulation 152(11):e114-e218 and co-published in JACC 86(18):1567-1678. The publisher field is the Circulation publisher as Crossref names it. Abstract and bibliographic records only. The Circulation abstract comes from PubMed (electronic publication 2025-08-14, issue date 2025-09-16). The JACC co-publication is known from Crossref. Both publisher pages returned HTTP 403 and Europe PMC lists the full text as subscription required, so the guideline text was not read. PubMed lists three corrections to the Circulation version (2025-11-11, 2026-04-14 and 2026-05-26) and Crossref lists two to the JACC version. None of their text was read.) <https://doi.org/10.1161/CIR.0000000000001356>
     Locator: CommentsCorrectionsList, three ErratumIn entries. Retrieved 2026-10-11T19:12:26Z. Source state: Corrected. Snapshot hash: 9e027f3d68d4bfdb87610ed25b0bc4da961cdb43254f5421faf962074220c710.
     How it applies: Shows that corrections exist. What they change is unknown.
  4. Background: 2025 AHA/ACC/AANP/AAPA/ABC/ACCP/ACPM/AGS/AMA/ASPC/NMA/PCNA/SGIM Guideline for the Prevention, Detection, Evaluation and Management of High Blood Pressure in Adults (Guideline, edition Issued by the American College of Cardiology and the American Heart Association with other societies named in the title. Published in Circulation 152(11):e114-e218 and co-published in JACC 86(18):1567-1678. The publisher field is the Circulation publisher as Crossref names it. Abstract and bibliographic records only. The Circulation abstract comes from PubMed (electronic publication 2025-08-14, issue date 2025-09-16). The JACC co-publication is known from Crossref. Both publisher pages returned HTTP 403 and Europe PMC lists the full text as subscription required, so the guideline text was not read. PubMed lists three corrections to the Circulation version (2025-11-11, 2026-04-14 and 2026-05-26) and Crossref lists two to the JACC version. None of their text was read.) <https://doi.org/10.1161/CIR.0000000000001356>
     Locator: message.updated-by, two entries. Retrieved 2026-10-11T19:12:28Z. Source state: Corrected. Snapshot hash: 09bef8125ff0d467b57cbcd98e3d62e6a6f74fdabbbbbee3689a5288a8e8269f.
     How it applies: Crossref lists two corrections to the JACC co-publication. What they change is unknown.

## Connected pages

- Co-issuer, with the American College of Cardiology: American Heart Association (`core:aha`)
- Co-issuer, with the American Heart Association: American College of Cardiology (`core:acc`)

## Provenance

Content hash: e1593294a9028bafb8498d78c60e5c4cca04977b8b5a5be39b4e5aed056e1611
Last substantive edit: 2026-10-11
Evidence last checked: Not recorded
